iPhones are pretty robust devices. They are the market leaders when it comes to devices that go on for an extended period without any security or functionality error. Nothing is flawless, so there may come situations where you have to restore your iPhone to make it work for you again. So, let us see what does restoring my iPhone means?
What does restoring an iPhone mean?
Restoring the iPhone’s meaning depends on the context you are using it in. essentially, it can mean two things.
- What does restore my iPhone mean when I say “Restore the iPhone to factory settings “? It means that all your data and settings will be erased, and you get a fresh start, just like a brand new phone. The most straightforward restore iPhone meaning is that it will install a new operating system on your iDevice. As with any other method, a new operating system means complete wipeout of all the device data. You will use this option in certain situations like;
- Your phone’s performance is not up to the mark. It is slow, or it freezes, etc.
- If you are selling or giving away your phone.
- You are handing over your phone for repair and keeping your data safe and secure.
- What does restore my iPhone mean when I say “Restore data from backup to the device”? It means that your device will be erased, and then the data from the last backup on iTunes will be configured on it. It is something like going back to your previous working configuration. You will use this option if;
- You don’t want to backup from iCloud or if your iCloud backup is too bulky.
- You want to restore the phone to recover from performance issues but want to keep your data back.
Why should I restore my phone?
If your iPhone has some technical issues that you are not able to figure out, you may have to restore your iPhone to completely wipe out the data and settings to give it a fresh start. Although, you should first try the initial solutions like restarting your phone. Also, a factory reset can help if your phone is crashing, freezing, or is generally slow.
Sometimes electronics can get them into problems because of software malfunction or memory issues. Most of the time, wiping off a device can solve many issues that are affecting the performance.
If you are selling your phone or passing it down, you must erase all the data, saved passwords, media, and the preferred settings. Your personal, financial, or generally all data is on stack there. Erasing is vital for your safety as well as keeping the new owner out of the problem. Because if the phone is locked to your IDs and has your account configured for specific software, they always have to come back to you for the solutions.
If you are wondering if I restore my iPhone will I lose my photos and data? Restoring the iPhone is not a bad thing, essentially. However, you need to know the background and details on how things work to avoid unwanted surprises. You may have questions like;
Does restoring the iPhone delete photos?
If I restore my iPhone, will I lose my photos and data?
Does restoring the iPhone delete photos?
Yes, it will. Whatever method you use to restore your iPhone, you will lose your photos. But the catch is, if you have the latest backup of your data, you can get the data back on your iPhone. Having a backup is essential if you are worried that if I restore my iPhone, I will lose my photos. If you have any images that are not in the backup, unfortunately, you will lose them forever.
How to restore the iPhone to factory settings?
Does restoring the iPhone delete photos? If you are doing a factory restore, yes, it will. A factory restore deletes all the information and settings on your iPhone. It will format the phone and install the latest operating system.
Here is a quick tutorial on how to restore the iPhone to factory settings.
- The first and the most crucial step is to take a backup of all your data. If you can do this, you will now have to worry about if I restore my iPhone will I lose my photos. Because you can always get your photos back after the factory restore if you have a backup.
- After the backup, you will turn off Find My iPhone by going to Settings > [your name] > Find My option.
- Go to Settings > General > Reset > Erase all content and settings to act.
- If you have set a password, you need to provide it to move forward.
- Click the Restore iPhone button to finalize the process.
How to restore iPhone to iTunes?
iTunes can store all your data, pictures, media, and settings as a backup, which can help you wondering, will restore iPhone delete photos? If you have an iTunes backup, you can get your photos back.
It is essential to keep your iTunes version updated to make backing up and restoring the iPhone smoothly. Here is a quick guide to restoring the iPhone from iTunes.
- Open the iTunes application on your computer and connect your phone with the computer.
- Launch iTunes or Finder app and when your phone appears in the window, select it.
- You will see the summary in the right pane.
- Select Restore Backup from the summary.
- You will see a list of available backup options. Select the latest or the most relevant one.
- Click Restore and now wait till iTunes brings back all your data to your iPhone. If your backup is encrypted, you have to provide the password.
- Keep your phone connected to the computer till the process and the restart of the phone completes.
A periodic backup is your best defense against phone crashes and restarts problems. If you have an up-to-date backup, you do not have to worry about removing iPhone to delete photos? Because even when you have wiped your phone data, you can always get it back.